The Sprint Unlimited at Daytona is an annual invitation-only NASCAR Sprint Cup Series exhibition event held at Daytona International Speedway in February, the weekend before the Daytona 500. It is the first competitive event of the season and serves as a kickoff event for the NASCAR portion of Speedweeks.
The event was originally known as the Busch Clash, and consisted of a 20-lap/50-mile, "all-out sprint" for the previous season's pole position winners (considered the de facto "fastest drivers on the circuit"). In its current format, it is made up of three segments, culminating in a 20-lap sprint to the finish. Like the All-Star Race held at Charlotte, the race awards no championship points but instead offers a large cash purse – circumstances which are supposed to encourage an all-out driving style not seen in regular-season races.
As of 2015, the field consists of the sixteen drivers who were a part of the Chase the previous season, as well as pole winners from the previous season, former Daytona 500 pole winners, and former Sprint Unlimited winners. The starting lineup is determined by fan vote, not by time trials as all other races are determined.
The defending winner of the Unlimited is Denny Hamlin after winning all three segments in 2014.
This gallery is empty.

Categories & Keywords
Subcategory:Motor Sports
Subcategory Detail:NASCAR
Keywords:D1502DISS, Daytona International Speedway, Sprint Unlimited